You are here

Ellington In Anticipation

Cat No: STO802 

Mark Lockheart saxes |  Finn Peters alto | James Allsop clarinets | Emma Smith violin |  Liam Noble piano |  Tom Herbert  bass |  Seb Rochford drums | Released 2013

Track listing

  1. It Don’t Mean A Thing If It Ain’t Got That Swing
  2. My Caravan
  3. Come Sunday
  4. Jungle Lady
  5. Take The A Train
  6. Azure
  7. Uptown
  8. Creole Love Call
  9. Beautiful Man
  10. Mood Indigo
  11. Indian Summer

I started experimenting with some of Ellington's tunes one day and after a while found I had four or five strong ideas that I was excited about. Some of these tunes including 'Satin Doll' and 'Mood Indigo' became the inspiration for the rest of the album which gradually took shape over about a year. I've always loved  the way Ellington wrote for distinct musical instrumental voices and became fascinated in the way you could hear Johnny Hodges, Harry Carney, Paul Gonsalves and Lawerence Brown all 'sticking out' in the section . The sucess of this record lies alot in the individual voices I have on this record.

The album has been extensively featured on BBC’s Jazz Line-Up, Late Junction and Jazz On 3 programmes and the band’s concert at the Welsh School Of Music and Drama was broadcast in June 2013. Recent performances include Kings Place and Queen Elizabeth Hall (London Jazz Festival).


01/06/2013 Mojo Magazine  ****

Saxophonist/composer Lockheart has hit upon a delightful solution to the old/new wrangle


01/06/2013 Metro   ****

Slyly magnificent Ellington In Anticipation


01/06/2013 Guardian   ****

Quietly evolving into one of the UK’s jazz scene outstanding composers 

01/06/2013 Observer   ****

affecting melodies, endlessly inventive